England’s Provisional 2022 Women’s Euros Squad Announced


Sarina Wiegman has announced her 28-player provisional squad ahead of this summer’s 2022 Women’s Euros.

England are the hosts of the tournament. They open their campaign against Austria at Old Trafford on Wednesday 6 July, before facing Norway on Monday 11 July at the home of Brighton & Hove Albion next. Their final group match will see them come up against neighbours Northern Ireland. That match will be at St Mary’s Stadium, Southampton on Friday 15 July.

England’s captain will be Leah Williamson. The Arsenal defender was asked by manager Wiegman whether she would like to take on the role throughout the tournament during the last international break. Williamson was delighted and described it as an honour, and the pinnacle of what an English footballer can achieve. Previous captain Steph Houghton has had an injury-plagued season and is yet to feature for her country during Wiegman’s reign, but has been included in this provisional squad.

This squad of 28 players will be whittled down to the final 23 in mid-June. The Lionesses face friendlies against Belgium, the Netherlands and Switzerland in preparation for the home tournament.

Embed from Getty Images

Wiegman said of the squad: “The Euros are getting closer, and this is a big step towards the tournament. We have a settled squad and I know we have players in our team that will give everything to make it a summer to remember.

“It is important the players have the chance to get some rest now after a very busy season before we get back to our work. We then have a series of prep camps coming up and it is important we use this time to build an even closer connection on and off the pitch.”

The former Netherlands manager added: “We also look forward to welcoming those who have been working individually and with their clubs on their fitness in the past few weeks. We are hoping to have them back on the pitch when the series of pre- camps start, so we can see where they are at.”

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Hannah Hampton (Aston Villa), Sandy MacIver (Everton), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jill Scott (Aston Villa), Lucy Staniforth (Manchester United), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Keira Walsh (Manchester City), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Katie Zelem (Manchester United)

Forwards: Beth England (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Chloe Kelly (Manchester City), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Nikita Parris (Arsenal), Alessia Russo (Manchester United), Ellen White (Manchester City).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s